QotD: Your Answers, Please…

I’m a transcriptionist. I sit at home, headphones on, listening to and inputting the spoken word. It can be boring – once I transcribed a whole talk about Food Quality Plastics – but generally it’s intriguing.

Just what do you think I was working on, when I transcribed the following:

And I’ll have to have her, whether she is friendly or hostile or whatever. I don’t know

Just doing a read through, and came across this little gem:

I’m just hitting on them as I see them.

 

About bookmole
I am pro-choice. You make yours, I'll make mine, okay?

14 Responses to QotD: Your Answers, Please…

  1. thebookgator says:

    I’m kind of intrigued by the ‘food quality plastics.’ Is that to-go containers, plastic wraps or bottles? Do tell!
    On the other side, the latter bit you’re reading sounds a little ominous.

    • bookmole says:

      That is exactly what food quality plastics is all about – what chemicals can be used in what quantities, which I sort of knew. But also what heat that plastic can be subjected to, and how long it can be in contact with the food. I had to use auto-correct a lot!

      And surprisingly, the quotes are from something not at all ominous, even if involving an 87 year old man!

  2. Drude says:

    It definitely doesn’t sound like food quality plastics!
    I’m hoping we’re talking about dog-rescuing or something, and not the transcripts from some rape-trial with teen-age delinquents.

  3. aubrey says:

    The last two quotes sound like a combination of affection + aggression – if not ominous, certainly a little uncomfortable-making?

  4. bookmole says:

    It was a court case regarding breach of verbal contract, and the lady in question is a doctor who does not want to come to court to testify. Unfortunately, someone else got the next day, so I don’t know what happened!

  5. Redscylla says:

    Okay, that’s what it is intriguing to me–that you’d have all these unresolved narratives. You listen to one day of a trial transcript, but not the next day. And so the narrative never gets closure for you. Weird. How do you feel about that?

    • bookmole says:

      Sometimes it’s the pits and other times it’s If I had to listen to that voice again I’d turn to drink. But it’s not all unfinished. Sometimes it’s lectures (like the Food Contact Plastic stuff) or speakers at conferences.

      I love doing it. No commute and I can work in my jimjams if I want to.

  6. leendadll says:

    no guesses but thanks for the idea of picking up some work as a transcriptionist. i did that many years ago… might be an option for supplementing my income for awhile.

    • bookmole says:

      A stick of rock is a long candy stick with the name of the place it was purchased running through it. A grand British tradition, giving our kids pure sugar on holiday.They are very hard, and last for ages, which is another reason for giving them to your kids!

      • leendadll says:

        we have “rock candy” which is a stick covered with large “nuggets” of pure sugar. we ate them when I was young but I don’t see them very often these days.

Leave a Reply

