How Long?!?

When was the last time you got lost? Was it an enjoyable experience, or a stressful one? Tell us all about it.

The last time I got lost, it really wasn’t my fault. It was a temperamental SatNav, coupled with a couple who were on edge with each other, a faulty map and a short-tempered driver. I won’t name names, cos I am still friends with these people, but it was the worst six and a half hours of my life.

Given it takes two hours, max, to drive from my house to Brighton on a normal day, you can see, right there, things went badly. The driver was impatient and shouty, the passenger kept reading the map upside down, the SatNav only worked in bursts, and I was stuck in the back seat of a three-door car. I had never realised just how claustrophobic that is, so I spent the six and a half hour journey in a slight state of panic that there would be an accident and I would burn to death in the back of this deathtrap of a car. Seriously, why buy a car with three doors anyway?

When we came back, I flat-out refused to travel back with the original couple and hooked up with Irish and Roger, who have a sensible, five door car. And Roger, bless him, is the calmest driver ever. Speedy, takes more risks than I was happy with, but calm and polite to other drivers. Such a difference!

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/wrong-turns/

 

About bookmole
I am pro-choice. You make yours, I'll make mine, okay?

2 Responses to How Long?!?

  1. leendadll says:

    ohh.. that sounds very not fun!
    I very rarely get lost but after working till midnight, last week (?? the one before??), I got off the freeway to buy gas then somehow took the wrong on-ramp and drove 5 miles back toward start before I realized what I was doing… off the freeway, back on the freeway in the correct direction and finally made it home!

  2. Pingback: Poem / Poetry – “Dreaming Of Darkness Retreating” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

