A Tale of Co-Incidence, with some Woe and some Wow!

My BFF#1, Jay, was sixteen when she became pregnant. Being young, and scared, she hid this from her parents, who found out when she was 8 months pregnant.

After her baby, a little girl, was born, she was pressured (intensely) into giving her daughter up for adoption.

Which she did. Unwillingly and resentfully.

Then she turned into a  bit of a Wild Child, ending up getting married to someone her parents hated, and warned her against, and who ended the marriage by knocking her down a flight of stairs when she was seven months pregnant, killing the baby and forcing her to endure a labour knowing her child was dead.

Fast forward 30-something years. 23 May, 2013. Jay gets a text on her phone.

“Hey are you the Jay who had a baby called <Baby>, and gave her up for adoption on Date? Cos if you did, I am <Baby>.” She had to call her husband from work to read the text and tell her that yes, that is indeed <Baby>.

I don’t know how many of you read this post, Sharon and Tracey, This is For You? You might wanna go read it, which I just while away some time here. It’s OK. I can wait.

Here’s a video to listen to while you read it.

So, 29 May 2013, I got this letter in the post. Hand-written, good quality notepaper. I nearly threw it in the recycling, cos I have had a few charity letters like that. But once I threw away a cheque in an unopened letter. A big cheque. So I just don’t do that now.

Open letter. Start reading. Sit down quite heavily (and yes, there was a seat there to fall onto!), utterly gobsmacked to receive a letter from Sharon, who lives in Streatham (pronounced Stret-um for all non-Londoners out there.)

Sharon had used a skip tracer to find me, and wrote a very cautious letter. Upshot of which was Don’t worry if you never want to see us, but if you do, we would love to and if you don’t, please at least let us know.

I have never been so glad that I read a letter before binning it as I was that day!

So first I met Sharon. She got the train from Streatham, then cycled to St James’ Park, where we had lunch at Inn the Park. It felt so odd and also so right, it was just – strange.

After that, we bumped into each other at the Streatham Kite Festival. Yes, that is a thing. I’ve even got a video…

I have still to meet her two children. Oh yes! I am a grandmother. Not only am I a grandmother, after years (well, four) of being the only Witch who wasn’t also a Gran, I have six grandchildren. SIX! So, six children and six grandchildren. My genes are far-flung. Husband gets a bit jealous. Four children, no grands at all.

Tracey, who now lives in Australia, actually flew back to England to see me! Well, to see me, to celebrate a friend’s 40th, and for her Mum and Dad’s 50th Wedding Anniversary. But, hey – seeing me was in there! I surprised the fuck out of her by being at Heathrow to meet her, which led to me realizing that they had not really allowed enough time to get from Heathrow to London, and organizing the mad tube dash. They missed the damn train by 2 minutes – 2 whole minutes! Fortunately, we made it to the Virgin ticket office with a minute to spare, and the very nice lady at the counter endorsed their tickets for the next train to Birmingham.

Their tickets? Oh, yes. James. Her soon-to-be Husband, which is why I will be in Australia on 17 April 2014. Got my tickets, got somewhere to stay, got a holiday booked with Daughter… She has decided to go to the wedding, too, via Indonesia, then spend a year in Oz on a working visa. All sorted. So when I get there, after the wedding we are going to Peregian Beach for a week. Sand, Sea, Sun… my idea of a perfect relaxing break.

I have other news too. But I think that’s for another post.

About bookmole
I am pro-choice. You make yours, I'll make mine, okay?

3 Responses to A Tale of Co-Incidence, with some Woe and some Wow!

  1. crankypants says:

    Wow! What an incredible story! And wonderful! Congratulations on your suddenly expanded family.

  2. bookmole says:

    It still leaves me breathless…

  3. lauowolf says:

    Totally wonderful!

Leave a Reply

