Germany has such Lovely Food

I just found out about Currywurst. It is, and I quote this from allrecipes.com, a “popular ‘fast food’ in Berlin, Germany. It is quick and simple and everyone loves it! If you’re in a hurry, you can substitute ketchup for the sauce, or use your own recipe.”

Here’s the accompanying picture:

Currywurst

And the accompanying recipe:

Currywurst-recipe

Whoa, just a moment here.

3 x 15oz cans tomato sauce.

Three whole cans. For FOUR servings of sauce that is to be poured over sausages? What the fuck is this, Currywurst Soup? Just remember, the top picture shows what it should look like!

Gotta say, if I do ever go to Germany, and see Currywurst on the menu, I am going to give it a miss!

Also love the air quotes round ‘fast food’.

And don’t trust allrecipes.com

About bookmole
I am pro-choice. You make yours, I'll make mine, okay?

4 Responses to Germany has such Lovely Food

  1. lauowolf says:

    Maybe you are supposed to just know that there’s like a quart of sauce on the side to pour over something (probably) starchy.
    I think I would run away, fast, if offered this.

    • bookmole says:

      Don’t those sausages look disgusting. And if there is one thing Germany does well, it is sausages. So where did they find those… I have no words.

  2. My ancestors were German and so I have to agree. We even eat wurst on Christmas Day!

    • bookmole says:

      We have curry sauce with chips over here. And I love it (well, I did before the chemo took away my enjoyment of hot, spicy food!) but that recipe makes me want to bork. “Sprinkle with curry powder” indeed.

      And the sausages look like no German sausage I ever saw…

Leave a Reply

