I was just editing the synopsis for a new book in Calibre, when I read this:

A Young Adult Edition of “Wormholes” is also available, edited to eliminate adult language and situations.

Just read that again.

I remember reading Jane Gaskell’s The City when I was about ten. It had a picture of a girl riding an ostrich (except this is a fantasy, so it was not exactly an ostrich). I had to ask my mum what a brothel was and, extraordinarily, she just said “look it up in the dictionary, love”. Which I did, and it did not make any sense to me. So I ignored that, and continued reading the story of love (with sex) and aliens and war.

Bowdlerization is alive and well!

Here’s the cover that attracted me to The City:

Image

Let children read what they will – it’s better than letting them watch what they will!

About bookmole
I am pro-choice. You make yours, I'll make mine, okay?

3 Responses to

  1. Redscylla says:

    Here’s what I have to say to about bowdlerization: fuck that bullshit.

  2. Redscylla says:

    Oh! The picture finally loaded for me. That is a … fascinating cover.

Leave a Reply

