30 Days of Books: Day 7 and I Can’t Think of a Snappy Title

Day 07 – Most Underrated Book

I have spent two days, between bouts of shivering due to a bladder infection that is just not going away, pondering this.

What is an underrated book? Is it one from a small genre or sub-genre, it could be highly rated by aficionados but not known by the greater reading public. Most of my reading was Science Fiction – there are many books which have not had the public recognition I feel they deserve, but which are well rated in the community.

Books such as Walter Miller’s A Canticle for Leibovitz, Russel Hoban’s Ridley Walker, or John Brunner’s The Sheep Look Up. Post-apocalyptic, dystopic classics. There’s three underrated books for you.

Again, lateral thinking required.

And I think I have found the answer.

How to Win Friends and Influence People.

This book should be read by everyone. Because the Influence bit puts people off. But look! FIRST you Win Friends. Then you Influence People. I think the world would be a much nicer place if we were all trying to win friends and influence people, rather than starting fights and coercing people.

And I stand by Underrated, even though this book has sold 15 million copies. Seems a lot, huh? But it was released in 1937, becoming an overnight sensation and finally selling its fifteen million copies.

Twilight (puke bucket that it is) has sold 17 million copies.

There is something rotten in the state of Denmark.

Shivery bladder infection nearly gone now, thank goodness!

About bookmole
I am pro-choice. You make yours, I'll make mine, okay?

One Response to 30 Days of Books: Day 7 and I Can’t Think of a Snappy Title

  1. rossruns says:

    Haha, great chart! I’m wholeheartedly in the orange/red wedges of the pie.

Leave a Reply

