#28 of #365 – The Earth Exhales

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One of the reasons I like walking Heidi early in the morning is this – the earth exhaling. Till I got a dog, I had only seen this phenomenon when I stayed up late, rather than got up early.

I love how Heidi is trying to compete with the exhaling earth by adding her own cloud of vapour.

The quote is from the John Betjeman poem Slough, the final stanza of which reads

Come, friendly bombs and fall on Slough
To get it ready for the plough.
The cabbages are coming now;
The earth exhales.

link to full text

I like how the text is on the Slough website!

I heart Betjeman. His poetry is like Kiplings, in that it is best read out loud.

About bookmole
I am pro-choice. You make yours, I'll make mine, okay?

2 Responses to #28 of #365 – The Earth Exhales

  1. ryoko861 says:

    There’s definitely a different atmosphere in the morning. I love seeing horses exhale after a heavy run on cool days.

    • bookmole says:

      They create even more vapour than Heidi! One of my best memories is of being at Newmarket, watching the horses come back from their morning ride. Racehorses are beautiful creatures – till they pee and you end up in a lake!

Leave a Reply

