WordPress versus Vox Part One

Pro – Has the ability to edit comments. When you just typed know instead of knot, it is nice to be able to change that.

Con – Does not have that neighbourhood feeling. All subscribed posts in a list – yes WP has that, But you have to click on each one to read it, then go back to do the same for the next one. Longgg!

Pro – Other people’s complaints aside, I find the interface smoother and MUCH less likely to crash.

Con – Not sure I like the way tagging works.

Pro – Categories are great!

Anyone got more?

 

About bookmole
I am pro-choice. You make yours, I'll make mine, okay?

13 Responses to WordPress versus Vox Part One

  1. Doug says:

    Pro it gives statistics and info about your readers
    Con there isn’t an easy way to “follow” them, you have to navigate/copy/paste if you want to follow someone new

  2. Kelly says:

    I like that I can have the blogs emailed to me. That is awesome. 🙂

  3. ryoko861 says:

    I agree with Dough, stats are very cool. But not everyone puts a “subscribe” widget on their blogs. Blogger is the same way. So hence, you have to have a blog roll widget, which is mostly for my benefit so I can get to those blogs that I can’t subscribe to.

    I like WordPress better than Blogger that’s for sure, I joined VOX but they closed it about 4 weeks after I registered, so I never really got to know it.

  4. rossruns says:

    Can’t you just click on the “Subscribe” button in the WordPress bar that runs across the top of your browser when you’re logged in? That gets that blog subscribed for WordPress Subscriptions, for me. But I prefer to catch up on people’s posts in Google Reader by subscribing to their RSS feed, anyway. Easier to ensure I don’t miss posts, but doesn’t work for “private” blogs.

    I wish WordPress had a few more tiers of privacy/access options, like Vox did. But the platform itself is so much more robust and stable that I can’t fault them too much for what they don’t have.

    • bookmole says:

      Not all WP blogs have the Subscribe feature. And some of those (damn them!) don’t have email subscription either. I pray for a feed, then – I am trying to keep my blogroll small – my categories already take up too much room!

      • rossruns says:

        Maybe we’re talking about different things? I’m referring to the WordPress Subscription Tab and button on the admin bar – http://en.support.wordpress.com/subscriptions/ – as far as I understand, this is something anyone within WordPress can use as long as they have access to the WordPress blog and does not require the author set up the “subscribe widget”, which is a means to subscribe to email notifications for the blog.

        I have yet to see a WP hosted blog that I can’t subscribe to this way – can you point one out to me so I can see what you’re talking about? If you can’t subscribe, this sounds like a bug that Automattic needs to look into….

        • leendadll says:

          a lot of people have found problems with the subscriptions tab. most recent is that it un-subscribed a lot of posts for a lot of people.

          in the pro list: we can edit comments?

        • bookmole says:

          It might be self-hosted WP software blogs? I just know I have come across blogs with wordpress in the url that do not have the bar with My Account, My Blogs, etc, at the top of the page.

          • rossruns says:

            That may be, although I think *.wordpress.com is hosted by wordpress – self-hosted WP blogs shouldn’t have wordpress in the url since they’re NOT hosted by WP. My blog, for example, is a self-hosted WP install that doesn’t have the bar, because it’s not on the WP servers.

            But self-hosted WP are in the same boat as other blogging platforms (TypePad, Blogger, LiveCloud, etc.) – you don’t have a universal subscribe widget on those blogs that integrates with WordPress Subscriptions because WP is doing their own proprietary thing for subscriptions. A “universal subscribe widget” does exist though – that’s what an RSS feed is, and any good browser should auto-detect it and give you a link to subscribe through the feed reader of your choice (including WordPress Subscriptions – just paste in the URL of the site into the URL box on the “manage subscriptions” page and it adds it.)

            Unfortunately, nobody seems to want to use password-protected RSS feeds so private WP (or LiveCloud for that matter) blogs are exempt from reading via RSS. Vox was that way too, but at least their dashboard page made it fairly easy to catch up on everything in one place. Now you’d have to have multiple dashes to view all the private blogs – one for each site where you’ve been added for access to blogs on that site. 😦

  5. leendadll says:

    Con – not as easy to follow your hood & comment to comments

    Pro – I like a lot of the customization features.

    Pro – slideshows

    Con – can’t load personal video without an additional subscription

    Con – not as many privacy settings

  6. This is the battle that will never end because for every feature that I grow to love on WordPress I miss one on Vox.

    For me with vox I REALLY liked the security features. I liked knowing that I could have all my ‘hood peeps read stuff that my family couldn’t. I hate the password option of WordPress. Actually that’s not true. I hate that that’s the only option for any type of secured post. Blech.
    I also liked the Neighborhood page. it was simple, you add them then there posts start showing up on your ‘hood page. When you got a few minutes just check your Hood page and any updates where there in an easy -no-erroneous-clicks-needed page. It was awesome!
    The photo/book area. I forgot what it was called. I liked posting the books that I had been reading so I could go back and look at them. I often don’t realize how many books I’ve read and that nifty feature kept it easy for me to recall.

    WordPress: I have grown to love the stats page. Though I will say I’m not a fan of finding out the morning after just how many people have read my drunken posts. WordPress does also have a lot of nifty features, I’m just to technologically inept to figure out how to use them. More people are with WordPress, which is kinda cool.

    Though WordPress is growing on me,I really miss the awesome community feel of Vox.

    • rossruns says:

      Have you tried using something like Goodreads to log/document books you’ve read? I use it religiously and find it so much more versatile and convenient than the book feature on Vox. You can “tag” books with whatever you want, document when you started/finished the book, write a review, rate it out of 5 stars, etc. I even add a tag with the year I read a book so at the end I can go back and quickly see how many books I read that year, etc.

      Here’s my profile page as an example for you to see what I’m talking about. If you like it, sign up and add me as a friend! http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/296204-ross

Leave a Reply

