Cover Versions – Hit or Miss?

Dabysan got me thinking about cover songs. So, having read his post, I decided to submit my own list of Cover Songs that I Love.
I love Joni Mitchell.  But I love her song writing more than her voice, truth be told. So hearing this version, by the incomparable Annie Lennox, really made my day.  Annie Lennox can sing.  Her voice makes the song, in a way even Joni didn’t Manage.

Dylan.  Another great.  Voice like gravel, songs like diamonds.  But Hendrix took this one and made you forget that Dylan wrote it and performed it first.  And I chose the Isle of Wight performance because that is where I am going on June 9 – well, 7th really, to make sure we don’t have to pitch up near the bogs!

Sixbucksamonkey reminded me of how much I liked Marianne Faithfull, with her post of Working Class Hero.  Indeed, if you look at Marianne’s large body of work (well, she has been doing this for 4 decades now!), you are spoiled for choice.  So I have chosen The Ballad of Lucy Jordan, because she gives this song an immediacy and personal feel that Dr Hook never managed.

Now for somethine quite surreal.  William Shatner, he of Star Trek fame and very little else, recorded a version of Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds.  Never a track I was that keen on, I found Statner’s version touching and eerily accurate about how LSD affects you.  When you listen to him, you can almost imagine you are there.  I don’t know if this is an official video, but it is the best one on YouTube!

The original was two songs from Hair.  The famous nude musical.  Nina took the song and made it indubitably her own anthem.

And this has been going the rounds of my hood recently, with varied reactions.  Love it or loathe it, there don’t seem to be no middle ground!  I am of the Love It group – how about you?
And this is just – wrong.  Wrong, I tell you.

How about Bryan Ferry’s cover of Hard Rain, or Tori Amos doing A Case of You?  Not enough gained or lost, really.

So, if this get’s you thinking, how about sharing your favourite cover songs, for good or ill.  I would be fascinated.

Originally published on 2007-04-04, updated because links went to (closed and dead) Vox. And I would still like to know what your favourite cover is.

About bookmole
I am pro-choice. You make yours, I'll make mine, okay?

2 Responses to Cover Versions – Hit or Miss?

  1. airmouse says:

    I like most of Bryan Ferry's Dylan covers on his new album, especially All Along the Watchtower. Then again, I'm an unapologetic Ferry fan. Nouvelle Vague had some witty covers of '80s songs–I like Making Plans for Nigel. But I think one of the best covers I've ever heard is the Bangles' remake of Simon & Garfunkel's Hazy Shade of Winter.

  2. ryoko861 says:

    Annie Lennox is awesome! She’s one of my favorites! Dylan, not so much. Not a Hendrix liker either.

    I love Neil Diamond, but there are some cover songs he really shouldn’t touch. Especially Christmas music. Makes my ears bleed.

    “Keep Me Hangin’ On” by Kim WIlde was pretty good.

Leave a Reply

