True Words from Anne Dillard

I read about an Eskimo hunter who asked the local missionary priest, ‘If I did not know about God and sin, would I go to hell?’ ‘No,’ said the priest, ‘not if you did not know.’ ‘Then why,’ asked the Eskimo earnestly, ‘did you tell me?’

– Annie Dillard, Pilgrim at Tinker Creek, 1974

Randomly found via Google Reader’s Recommendations feature @ Mixed Blessing | Futility Closet.

About bookmole
I am pro-choice. You make yours, I'll make mine, okay?

One Response to True Words from Anne Dillard

  1. Kzinti says:

    So we can all go to hell together! LOL

Leave a Reply

