5 Word Challenge – The Monarch Butterfly

How it works:
Write an entry of any length or style using five assigned words. Bold the five words. Tag your blog post with ‘5wordchallenge’ and any other tags you wish to add. New words will be posted in two weeks.

Words for this challenge were chosen by myself and Ross:
monarch
daring
obligatory
ramparts
contradict

If you’d like to select words for an upcoming challenge, chat with MsRedPen on her blog, DM her on Twitter, or send her a message through the Vox Diaspora Yahoo! group or the ExVox forum.

Monarch butterflies are daring flyers. With wings measuring only four inches across, they travel great distances, a journey that takes them three generations to complete.

Laying eggs en route, then, is obligatory for their survival.

Watching them from the ramparts, I am envious of their freedom. Even the freedom to die without ever again seeing the place they were born, seems to me a freedom beyond measure. Do not contradict me with stories of want and need – I know of those. It is freedom I seek, freedom to marry, freedom to bear children as I wish, freedom to BE free.

Or else let me be a monarch of butterflies, not of men.

About bookmole
I am pro-choice. You make yours, I'll make mine, okay?

One Response to 5 Word Challenge – The Monarch Butterfly

  1. Straight to the point and well written! Why can’t everyone else be like this?

Leave a Reply

