Memories are Made of This…

Thanks are due to Kelly and her post of Memories of the Rocky Horror Picture Show.

One of the reasons I loved her post so much is that I was transported back to the first time I saw the movie. Which was in a galaxy far, far away… that’s what I feel the past is, mostly.

The  first time I saw The Rocky Horror Picture Show anywhere was at a movie theatre in Tel Aviv, late night showing. I had no idea what I was going to see, except that I knew it was a stage show, having gone past the theatre in London where it was showing twice daily for a year.

I was blown away. The late night viewers knew every song, every moment of that movie off by heart. They opened the drapes, they pushed the wheelchair, they threw rice, someone threw a bouquet which was caught by a young man two rows ahead of me, who gave them to his girl:  it was not so much a show as an Experience.

And so I did.

I went back every Saturday night for three months. I spent a fortune on rice. I got to know the other fans rather well. I went to two weddings and one funeral, met three lots of parents, and found out that even very religious Jews will still eat cheese and bacon when out of the home. Well, some of them do!

Thanks, Kelly, for making these memories rise to the top of my brain. I have not remembered this for years, and it is so good to meet them again.

Click through to Kelly’s post if you want videos. I am at work, and I think my boss might notice if that soundtrack started playing

About bookmole
I am pro-choice. You make yours, I'll make mine, okay?

3 Responses to Memories are Made of This…

  1. khager says:

    Yay, glad to help! 🙂

    I’m a pretty quiet person and someone who is really, REALLY strongly against talking in the theater when movies are playing, so you would think that I would flat out HATE Rocky midnight showings, but I don’t. 🙂 (I guess sort of like Emma in Glee, overcoming her fear of germs and flinging toast with abandon.)

    Some friends and I are going to New York next year. I think I’m going to peer pressure them into going to a midnight showing. 😉

  2. Freedom Smith says:

    Her post also brought back memories for me! I had forgotten exactly what we took to the movie although I seem to remember bread. Yes, it was so much fun. I bet it will experience a come back now that Glee has highlighted it!

Leave a Reply

