Look What I Got!

20092010108

Just a book. Right?

Wrong.  I got this free! I read Beneath Ceaseless Skies, a blog that concentrates on short stories in the fantasy genre. Marie Brennan writes the Onyx Court series, set in 16th century England, in which the Fae are real, and interact with our world.

And Blow Them at the Moon is a fantastic story, mixing the persecution of Catholics in England with magic and mystery. I loved it, and all I had to do to win this signed copy of her latest book was comment on the post.

20092010109

So now I have Marie’s address, courtesy of the mail service, I can become her stalker. Gonna be very hard, though, given an ocean separates us. (Marie – I am only joking, honest!)

Buy A Star Shall Fall at Amazon. It won’t come signed, though. I am going to hang on to my copy, thank you!

Review from Amazon:

As in 2009’s brilliant Midnight Never Come, anthropologist Brennan strikes a resonant balance between history and fantasy in this new tale of the faerie domain beneath 1750s London. Halley’s Comet, which houses the exiled Dragon Spirit of Fire who nearly consumed the city in the Great Fire of 1666, is on its way back to Earth. Human lord Galen is in love with faerie queen Lune, bedding the charming sprite Irrith, and engaged to bluestocking Delphia Northwood; as he attempts to untangle these entanglements, he must also enlist members of the new Royal Society, England’s illustrious scientists, and all the multifarious faery talent he can find to fight the Dragon with humanity’s reason, magical faery instinct, and the power of sacrifice and devotion. Enchanting, fearsome faerie vistas and pinpoint character delineations make Galen’s absorbing quest one to savor and remember.

About bookmole
I am pro-choice. You make yours, I'll make mine, okay?

Leave a Reply

