Pulp and Jarvis Cocker

OK. You all finished sniggering at his name, then?

I was coming home on the bus tonight when I realised I could not work out what it is about Jarvis Cocker that I like.

OK, there is a bit of that.

And there’s the fact he wrote Mile End, featured in Trainspotting. Not a vid from the film, but whoever put this one together got Mile End spot on.

Warning – scenes of grossness involving toilets.

But mostly, I love him for the song that summed up the British Rave scene of the late 80s / early 90s.

Tried uploading the audio post, but got the dreaded pink speaker (first try) then the “sorry, there was an error processing this request” second try.

So, with the wonders of YouTube, here are Pulp live on Jools Holland, 2002, and Sorted for Es and Wizz.

I love that this song, with its heavy drug references (Es are ecstasy and Wizz is cocaine) was played on Top of the Pops.

And if you click through on the Mile End video, it has the lyrics.

Go, Jarvis, Go!

About bookmole
I am pro-choice. You make yours, I'll make mine, okay?

2 Responses to Pulp and Jarvis Cocker

  1. Adam says:

    My goodness. I lived in Mile End in the early 90s, and that video brings back a lot of memories.

  2. Bookmole says:

    Not much changes, huh? God forbid memories of that toilet are in your head!

Leave a Reply

