Is Tecnology Ruining YOUR Marriage?

Husband decided there was no way he was getting a Blackberry. And, having read this, I am glad. I would much rather he played with his Tom-Tom!
clipped from lifestyle.msn.com

As the wife of a BlackBerry addict, I tried three ways to wean my husband off his new mate. See how we reconnected.

My husband is addicted to his BlackBerry. He uses it while he drives, while he watches TV, and, worst of all, while I’m talking. And believe me, he is no multitasker. The other morning I woke up thinking there was a mouse nibbling on something, but it was just my husband sending emails from bed. Funny, yes. Could I let it continue? No

Plan 1: No Crack in the Bedroom

The Verdict: This helped, but not enough. I was still cuddling with DHandBB on the couch at night

Plan 2: Out of Sight, Out of Mind

The Verdict:This was a great start, and it’s a solution I could live with.

Plan 3: Designated Hours

The Verdict: This was a little harder. 

Final Verdict: The best idea was designated hours, but the real benefit of this experiment was talking openly about DH’s CrackBerry addiction.

But after we talked about fixing the problem, he suddenly realized it was a problem.

  blog it

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About bookmole
I am pro-choice. You make yours, I'll make mine, okay?

One Response to Is Tecnology Ruining YOUR Marriage?

  1. Venus says:

    I just got a BB myself a few weeks ago. My friends expected me to be one of the first … but I resisted for the very reasons you allude to. Oddly, I find it liberating. I don't feel compelled to log into the nearest computer to see what is going on in my e-mail world. I can glance and then put it down and carry on with my life. We are all different, of course … 🙂 … but I find it has actually weaned me back out into my life … and this is A Very Good Thing.

Leave a comment