Why Remixes are Good

Written by Jacques Brel, and originally performed in French by him.  Translated by Rod McKuen and first performed in English by Shirley Bassey.

So says the Interweb.  So if you know different, please let me know.

But here are three versions, none of them by
Jacques Brel or Shirley Bassey.

First, in French, by the incomparable Nina Simone:

 

The first English version I heard – Scott Walker:

 

And finally, by Emiliano Torrini, whose voice I find amazing.  Half Icelandic, half Italian.  Yes, she does sound like Bjork.  And like herself.  I think her version is the one I prefer:

(another Vox post updated)

About bookmole
I am pro-choice. You make yours, I'll make mine, okay?

2 Responses to Why Remixes are Good

  1. airmouse says:

    And there's a version by Frank Sinatra that's more symphonic but still as heart-wrenching.

Leave a Reply

