Guess Again Carrots

Having got this from Lizzie, I thought I would try the Guess Again Carrots.  Turned out yummilicious, so Daughter here is a photo shoot of start to finish.

Edited it now that I found you can have photos in a line (like below) even when they have been uploaded for ages, not just when you upload them.  A feature I did not know about!  So, once again, Guess Again Carrots.  And I think I may do these for lunch today.

You will need: 1.5 lb carrits and a suitable pan.

1 1/2 lb CarrotsUse a Suitable Sized Pan

Peel and slice carrots  Bring to boil, reduce heat and simmer for 15 mins, or until tender.
While they are cooking, finely chop one large onion, minced garlic and 8oz sharp cheese, grated.
1 Small Onion, Grated, and 3 Cloves Garlic, Crushed8oz Mature Cheddar CheeseGrate the Cheese

The recipe also called for breadcrumbs for the topping.  I did not notice this until just before I put the dish in the oven, so there are no pictures.   But I did use them.  I whizzed one slice of bread in my Food Processor till it became small crumbs.

Mash carrots – try and make them as smooth as possible.  Mix with 3/4 of the cheese and the grated onion.

Mashed CarrotsPlace Carrots, Onions & Cheese in a BowlAll Mixed Up

Season with salt and black pepper, and place into lightly greased oven-proof dish.  Top with reserved cheese and breadcumbs.  Bake for 40 minutes at gas 6.

  Delicious.  Even Middle Son, a carrot-hater for many years, ate this all up.  But it was so cheesy…

About bookmole
I am pro-choice. You make yours, I'll make mine, okay?

12 Responses to Guess Again Carrots

  1. Lizzie says:

    Love the step by step photos :o)
    Delicious. Looks it!
    Even Middle Son, a carrot-hater for many years, ate this all up. This bit made me grin
    But it was so cheesy… Would you recommend less cheese, or, can you never have enough?

  2. Bookmole says:

    No, the cheese was about right. But their recipe called for 2b carrots, and I knew that, even for six (a friend was over) that would have been way too much. There was a small bit over, which I had for lunch, and it was really nice cold, too. So quite a handy dish for a veggie student. Cheap, tasty, and keeps well.

  3. Red Pen says:

    This looks scrumptious. The rest of my family will only eat raw carrots, but I'm tempted to see if they would like this. I know I would.

  4. CupCate says:

    OoOOooh, it appears as though even I could not screw up this recipe. Looks nummy! You can never have enough cheese!!

  5. Bookmole says:

    Let me know how it turns out if you do. Takes about an hour, all in, I expect – it took me longer, but I kept having to stop and take pictures, and then make sure the camera was put somewhere safe and unwet. Plus Husband kept ringing me about stuff he was listening to on the radio – a bored drive home from Brighton and Kent.

  6. Lizzie says:

    I've already told KT we're having this sometime this week. He didn't sound too enthused, but it looks fabulous.
    Cate – I adore cheese – I didn't get my big bottom on chocolates and other 'fine foods' you know ;o)

  7. Waterbaby says:

    I was gonna say, carrots and cheese just doesn't seem like it'd work …

  8. Bookmole says:

    Carrots and cheese is a suprising combination that works exceedingly well.

  9. Megan says:

    Mmm looks good. I'm allergic to onions, do you think it would still taste all right if I omitted them?

  10. Bookmole says:

    I really don't think it would matter. Mostly you could taste cheese. What do you normally use as an onion substitute, or is there no such thing?

  11. Megan says:

    I just leave them out generally. I've never noticed any difference.

  12. Waterbaby says:

    Yeah, if the cheese is right, maybe I can see that …

Leave a Reply

