Because I need to Vent

I am fed up.  Not bored, but fuming.  So I am going to waste time and hopefully calm down by doing this Because I’m Bored Meme from the fabulous LeendaDLL via EvilWombatQueen.  The hardest bit is going to be actually doing the meme, and not falling off my seat laughing at EWQ’s answers.

What curse words do you use the most?
This morning – a lot.  Including some I didn’t know I knew.  Maybe I made them up?

Do you own an i-pod?
Yes.  And I love it.  Well, I would if it worked!  I think the hard drive is going, so I shall have to trek down to the store in Regent Street.  It’s easy to get to and they are always helpful.  Just the Sick I Tell You Sick has left me feeling disinclined to go anywhere!  And my legs don’t really work properly without music being pumped into my ears.  I shall have to resort to A Good Book instead.

What time is your alarm clock set to?
7am.  And 7.30am.  John Humphreys wakes my up, whispering vitriol into my ears.  Either that or the weather report.  Gotta love that Radio 4 in the morning…

Would you rather take the picture or be in the picture?
Take the picture.  Definitely.  I am doing (make that struggling with) Project 365, so I have to take a picture every day.  I interpreted the brief to mean that, at the end of the 365 days, when you look at your thumbnails, they all mean something.  They are memory engrams in pictorial form.  So the hardest part is trying, each day, to take a picture that means something.  The Sick I Tell You Sick put a hold on that – I figured no one, not even me, wanted to look at 15 pictures of my sofa.  Or my telly.  Cos that pretty much was where I was and what I looked at for 15 days – with the occasional foray into Vox.

What was the last movie you watched?
Warlock.  Never did watch the end of Dogma (for the umpteenth time!).  I like Warlock.  Not big-budget and a decent script.

What CD is currently in your player?
I don’t actually play CDs any more.  I rip them to iTunes and play them through the computer.  And at the moment I am listening to a DJ mix I downloaded, which I am sure is legal, even if it was free.  Oh, and it is just fab.

Do you prefer regular or chocolate milk?
Regular.  Semi Skimmed.  But really I prefer water.

Has anyone told you a secret this week?
No.  Thank god.  I hate keeping secrets.  I firmly believe a secret is not a secret when more than one person knows.  People say Let me tell you a secret and I go Look, I will probably tell Husband, you know.  I don’t want to censor what I tell him, so it depends on the conversation.  But chances are he will know.  Eventually.

When was the last time you had Starbucks?
I have never been in a Starbucks.  No.  That is not quite accurate.  I walked into a Starbucks once, in Birmingham, wanting to kill half an hour and have a coffee at the same time.  The smell. All those different coffees and cakes wafting their olfactory signatures at my nose, going Notice me.  No me.  I just could not stand it.

Can you whistle?
No.  Complete failure.

What are you looking forward to?
My children leaving home.  Please.  Dear.  God.  Help me out here.

Did you watch cartoons when you were little?
No.  We did not have a TV until I was 10.  Though I can, just about, remember watching Rag, Tag and Bobtail and The Woodentops.  But that could have been when I was older.

Do you own any band t-shirts?
No, but I am so going to buy a Faithless one when I go to see them at Wembley!  The tickets have come, and I know where Kay has hidden them.  So no fiasco this time, huh.

What will you be doing in an hour?
Beating Youngest.  Making him do coursework.  Stressing.

What was the last song you heard?
I have no idea.  I am listening to a DJ mix set (by Treavor Moontribe) – it is very good, but it has no track listing.  And I do not recognise most of the songs.

Last time you cried?
Reading about Polly, the corgi who needs rescuing because her owner went into hospital and never came out again.  I just felt so sorry for her – she will not understand why her Owner has vanished from her life.

Desktop or laptop?
Do I have or do I want?  I have a desktop.  I would like a laptop as well. Yes I am greedy, butI could take my computer to bed, then, and Vox even later into the night…  No, bad idea.

Desiring any new ink?
I have no ink, so I could not be desiring new ink. Stand out from the crowd, have virgin skin and only pierced ears.

What’s the weather like?
It was raining, now it is sunny with grey clouds.  Heavy showers are predicted for today.  Another reason not to go out!

What were you doing an hour ago?
Asking Youngest why he would not remove his piercing.  But it is not healed he wailed.  I will get a retainer, it’s plastic, they won’t even notice it.  You will have to go and get me one.  My blood pressure is rising again.  IT WAS HALF TERM LAST WEEK – no school for a whole week – so why did he not get this stupid thing then!!!

How many hours of sleep do you need to function?
Enough.  Sometimes I will sleep for 12 hours and still feel tired, other times I get four hours and function fine.  It’s a variable thing with me, sleep.  Years of drug taking, clubbing and general being single-ness followed by many years of children have caused this, I suspect.

Do you eat breakfast daily?
Yes.  God yes.  I like my food.  Preferably with carbs.  I love my carbs in the morning.  Toast.  With marmite.  And black coffee.  My start to the day.

What did you do last night?
Posted some stuff to Flickr.  Drank two glasses of wine.  Read a little.  Spoke to Husband on the mobile – love you honey, goodnight.  Went to bed.

Do you use sarcasm?
Yes.  It is like second wind to me.  My very own way of being nasty.  I try to get away with calling it Irony, but lets be honest – who the fuck understand Irony?  Whereas we all understand Sarcasm!

Do you like mustard?
Yes when appropriate.  It is my secret ingredient in cheese sauce.  Go on, try it, you will be pleasantly surprised.  Or you are reading this going, but I do that anyway – I thought that was my secret!  And I like mayo and mustard mixed as a dip for chips.  That is fries, not potato snacks.  God, this English can be a slippery bugger, can’t it!

Do you sleep on your side/back/stomach?
I go to sleep on my side, usually.  Then I am asleep.  I will have to rig up a camera to film me at night, and get back to you on this.

Do you watch the news?
No.  Sometimes.  I cannot stand the news channels.  I do not want headlines every 15 minutes – my memory is longer than that, thanks.  I find I watch Al Jazerra TV.  It has interesting news from a differing viewpoint, and more in-depth news.  That coupled with a hour of the Beeb or Sky means I am fairly well informed.  And I don’t know how to spell Al Jazerra – so bite me!

How did you get one of your scars?
I fell down the stairs.  Scarred wrist and scalp.  Scary.

About bookmole
I am pro-choice. You make yours, I'll make mine, okay?

2 Responses to Because I need to Vent

  1. LeendaDLL says:

    I do the mayo/mustard dip thing too! And mustard in the mac & cheese. Great minds… great minds!
    Thank you for NOT linking to the story off the corgi. I couldn't take it.

  2. SandyU says:

    re the iPod hard drive… my daughter was having a problem like that last summer, and my husband suggested she put it in the freezer for 1/2 hour – seemed to cure it, and it's still working fine! According to him this is some sort of old known-to-geeks cure for hard drives. Can't hurt to try anyway (apparently), especially since Apple charges something like $50 to look at it.

Leave a Reply

