QotD: Beam Me Up Jean Luc

If you could make a magic wish for a futuristic gadget or high-tech innovation, what would your item do?
Submitted by Red Pen.

Hey Red Pen – you got your question picked!

I want a Replicator.  I would like The Enterprise and Jean Luc to go with it, but lets not be greedy.  Too greedy.  I just want a Replicator.

Steak, rare, with fries
Green Salad, well dressed
Lobster Thermidore – yuk, take it away.
Roast Lamb with Rosemary Roast Potatoes, greens and mint sauce.
Goan Fish Curry.  mmmmm. More please.
Rice Pudding with cream.
Ice cream with clotted cream.
Cheese and Biscuits.

Maybe if I hadn’t had to cook, every day, for at least five people for the last 18 years I might have picked something more – altruistic.  Like, I don’t know, sticking plasters that do not leave a horrid residue on your legs, or self propelled supermarket trolleys.  Feminine Hygiene products that never ever leak or lipstick that never smears and doesn’t feel like gloop on your lips.  A Remote Control to mute the children…

Damn.  Just the one wish, huh.

I had best stick with The Replicator then.

Or was I supposed to invent one?  Cos if so, I am going for the Self-Propelled Supermarket Trolley.  It wheels itself round the supermarket, follows you to your car, or to your house if you are walking, then takes itself back to the supermarket car park storage depot for trolleys without causing an accident.

About bookmole
I am pro-choice. You make yours, I'll make mine, okay?

3 Responses to QotD: Beam Me Up Jean Luc

  1. RedScylla says:

    Hmmm…I think there's something rather altruistic about the Replicator. You could make people whatever their hearts desired. It would be like therapy, well, for those of us who use food to treat our moods anyway. Feeling down, how about a nice pile of your grandmother's pancakes? Zap.

  2. RPM says:

    Jean Luc is your favorite Trek leader? Mine as well. He's such a delightful little Frenchman.

  3. Bookmole says:

    The competition is not exactly fierce! But Picard is just yummy – I particularly like the episode where he saves The Enterprise, all the time carrying a saddle. My sort of hero.

Leave a Reply

