Five Word Challenge

This is how it works: you get 5 words and with these 5 words you have to write an entry. The words might or might not be related. You decide how to combine them, and how long your entry will be. You tag your entry with 5wordchallenge and whatever other tags you like. Finally, you put the words in bold.

This challenge: flashlight, doldrums, ferocity, wash, recesses

In one week the challenge will be passed on to someone that participated in this one, by Electric Firefly, who hosts this week’s challenge.

flashlight, doldrums, ferocity, wash, recesses

He had things to do that summer that did not include me. He was rarely home. He was busy. Busy working. Busy playing.

I was in the doldrums that summer. I had been walking the beach for weeks, looking for shells, looking for flotsam, looking for peace. They kept me sane, those walks. Up the beach, to the café. Coffee. Cookies. Down the beach. Up the steps to the new house.

The house was not large. Three rooms, kitchen, bath. But it was enough. A place to eat, a place to sleep, a place to wash. What was missing was a place for him. But while the summer lasted, I was not going to worry about that. Worry was for the winter. Somewhere, deep in the recesses of my mind, I knew it was wrong to think this way, but life is hard at the best of times.

Then he left for two weeks in Spain. When he was gone, it felt lonely. Very lonely. See it as a new start my friends had said. Ha. Felt like the end to me. But I had to fight it. Take a flashlight to the corners of my psyche. Learn to be alone.

Learn not to miss him. Learn not to phone him when something goes wrong; like when the summer storm blew the shutters off with the ferocity of the wind, or when the frogs invaded the house just after than same summer storm. It was hard.

Yet even now, I remember that summer with fondness. The last summer I could think of us as a family. The summer before he went to University, my youngest, my last born.

About bookmole
I am pro-choice. You make yours, I'll make mine, okay?

4 Responses to Five Word Challenge

  1. RPM says:

    Oh man I love these.

  2. Irma says:

    The fwordchallenge tag instead of the 5wordchallenge tag … is that on purpose?

  3. Bookmole says:

    Damn. No, it;s just me touch typing inaccurately. Considering I used to do that for a living, I still cannot reliablly type numbers. Thanks for pointing it out – have changed it now.

  4. Irma says:

    I thought maybe you wanted to participate but not get chosen to host the next challenge for some reason 🙂

Leave a Reply

