Book Meme – Yes, OK, Sorry.

Lifted from Know It All.  Thanks.

1. One book that changed your life:
No damn idea.  Really.  I read Jane Gaskell’s City series when I was ten – that was pretty eye opening – full of brothels, sex and sexy scaled creatures.  But can a book really change your life – and don’t tell me The Bible will Change Your Life cos that is just badly written demagogy.. OK – I will give you that the King James Authorised Version of the Bible reads like poetry – does not make the content any better!

2. One book that you’ve read more than once:

Every book I own that I haven’t culled has survived because I have either read it lots and love it, or I know I am going to read it again.  Quite often I cannot remember how a book ends – probably because as I get nearer and nearer the dénouement, I read faster and faster to find out what happens!  Great for finishing a book, not so good for remembering.

3. One book you’d want on a desert island:

A book on How to Survive on a Desert Island.  Plus maybe every Pratchett book ever written with an airdrop of his new one at Christmas.  Or a book printed on rice paper so I would at least have something to eat..  No, I think I will stick with The Survivor’s Manual.

4. One book that made you laugh:

Pratchett – pretty much all of them.  Bill Bryson’s books make me chuckle.  Some Vox posts do that too.

5. One book that made you cry:

The last time a book made me cry – hard.  Not a crying sort of person, except when hormonally challenged.  So almost any slightly sad book in the last two years (menopause) or a book I was reading when Eldest and Middle sons were born, and the Four Day Blues kicked in.  Damn hormones.

6. One book that you wish had been written:
No idea – but I suspect it’s out there somewhere.  Published now, that’s different.  In case there is a God of Good Causes who is listening to this – Redzilla deserves a Contract, OK.

7. One book that you wish had never been written:
The Bible, The Koran, The – I suspect you get the idea that I do not like religious ideology.  Ergo the written form of said ideology has got to be on my list.   And most self-help manuals suck, too. 

8. One book you’re currently reading:
I have just started to read Elizabeth Haydon’s Rhapsody series.  I bought the three books two years ago (two paperback and one hardback) and then just never got round to them.  And now I am thinking its just another bloody fantasy…  I hope it improves.

9. One book you’ve been meaning to read: 
See answer above.  And now I am reading it.  Otherwise – how will I know till I get to the shops – I am a browser reader – I see a book, read the blurb, inhale that newly printed smell when I open it to read the first page.  When I find myself reading the second page, that’s usually a good sign that I am gonna buy the book..

10. Now tag five people:
I’ll go along with Know It All and leave it up to you – go for it if you’re interested, leave it if you are not.  Not everyone is as obsessed as me an avid reader.

About bookmole
I am pro-choice. You make yours, I'll make mine, okay?

Leave a Reply

