I Never Expected This!

She was in the back garden.  I don't even know what she is, any help here would be appreciated!
I heard a lot of cawing and general birds making noise, so I looked out to see what was happening and there she was, tearing into the breast of a plump pigeon.  Not a sight I expected! 

Would have got more photos, but a neighbour came out and she flew away.  With the pigeon, for which I am very pleased.

Now all that is left is lots of fluffy feathers!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About bookmole
I am pro-choice. You make yours, I'll make mine, okay?

6 Responses to I Never Expected This!

  1. Lindsay says:

    What a sight! I too would be grateful that she took the pigeon with her. 🙂

  2. Lizzie says:

    Heya – Happy reading for 2007, you've made me all jealous with your book tokens!
    Pretty certain the bird is a Goshawk (unless it was wee – in which case it could have been a Sparrowhawk, which looks quite similar…). Great photo though!

  3. Bookmole says:

    I think a sparrowhawk, then – not much bigger than the pigeon she was eating, and all the images of goshawks I could find did not have that yellow stare. Thanks! It was driving me made – I just couldn't google with enough detail to get a good picture.

  4. M says:

    Fantastic photo,Bookmole! We have red-tailed hawks here in the Midwest U.S., and they can get quite large.

  5. constantX says:

    Nice catch! 😛

  6. Spike says:

    Looks like a sparrowhawk; check the video there, or this photo at RSPB images (among others). You'd be lucky to see a goshawk; they're pretty scarce (and rather larger and more "contrasty" markings-wise).Couple of useful sites: British Garden Birds concentrates on the ones you're most likely to see, while the RSPB's A-Z of UK birds is pretty comprehensive. Both alphabetic, though, so not much use if you're starting with I saw this brown bird with stripes underneath, yellow eyes and a white eyebrow eating a pigeon. I thought I'd seen a site that did that, but I can't find or remember it at the mo.

Leave a Reply

