How Went Your 2006?

Found via Know It All‘s blog and I am a real sucker for memes.  Specially ones that make you think about your life.  So, here goes,  It’s a bit long, but if you love like me, you will read it.

What did you do in 2006 that you’d never done before?
Blogged.  Never did before Go Fug Yourself sent me an invite.  Thank you very much, Go Fug Yourself.

Did you keep your New Year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
I don’t make them because I never keep them.  Why set yourself up for failure?

Did anyone close to you give birth?
No.  Thankfully – because it would almost certainly be a teenaged daughter and that would not be good.

Did anyone close to you die?.
No this year.

What countries did you visit?
God, nowhere.  What a boring year I have had, travelwise.  I haven’t even visited Wales, Scotland or Ireland, and they are just up the road, more or less.

What would you like to have had in 2006 that you lacked in 2005?
Truthfully – nothing.

What date from 2006 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
See, I am getting senile already.  The date of LoVox remains the highlight of my year – just going somewhere without Husband was pretty cool, and meeting strangers I already knew was pretty cool too.  But the actual date?  No, cannot remember and am not going to cheat by looking.  It was, however, a cold and Christmassy Wednesday.

What was your biggest achievement of the year?
Surviving.  Staying sane.  Keeping a family together.  Small but significant things.

What was your biggest failure?
Not keeping to my diet so that I was all slim and svelte for Christmas.  See, even on the failure scale, that is pretty insignificant to anyone but me.

Did you suffer illness or injury?
Well, I fell right down the stairs in my sleep.  Woke up in Casualty.  A post for another time.

What were the best things you bought?
Sitting here, looking back – I cannot truly remember a thing I bought.  And yet I must have spent ££££ over the year.  Fritter money.  Nothing to show for it money.  Poor Husband!  He makes it, I waste it.  That is bad.

Where did most of your money go?
Books.  Alcohol.  Snacks.  Waste.

What did you get really, really, really excited about?
Taking Daughter to University, seeing her settled and happy and excited.

Compared to this time last year, are you:
Happier or sadder?  Happier
Thinner or fatter?  Thinner
Richer or poorer?  Richer

What do you wish you’d done more of?
Exercising

What do you wish you’d done less of?
Eating too much.

How will you be spending Christmas?
With family

Did you fall in love in 2006?
What are you implying?  I am a happily married woman with many demands on my time and energy – falling in love – no, not going there.

How many one-night stands?
Zero

What was your favourite TV program?
Dr Who.  Waiting desperately for the new season.  I hate waiting for things, I am a very impatient person.

Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?
Personally, I don’t hate anyone.  But I really, really dislike Bush & Blair for getting us involved in such a pointless war.

What was the best book you read?
Stuart: A Life Backwards. A totally compelling book which you cannot read without being affected by the story.  Strongly, strongly recommend that you beg, borrow or buy this book and read it.

What did you want and get?
Book Tokens!  £190 worth.  Sorry, do appear to be going on about the book tokens, but I am just so really, really pleased that this year people listened to my pleas.

What did you want and not get?
World peace.  A cure for Aids.  A superior form of government.  Acceptance of mental health issues by the general public.  The usual.

What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
Got up late.  Opened presents.  Went to Lontosa with Husband, Daughter, Middle Son and Middle Son’s Friend.  Got a pint of beer in my lap, for which we received free beers.  Ate way too much of their yummy dim sum.  Went home, played Talisman (I hear you yawning at the back there!), had some drinks, had some smokes, went to bed, watched Torchwood, slept like a cat.  Oh, and I am now 52.

What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
If my male children would settle to education and try, just a little, to do their work.  Can’t make them, but they are just struggling.

What kept you sane?
Drugs.  And I say no more.

What political issue stirred you the most?
Tony Blair and Gordon Brown.  I find myself resenting the fact that Gordon Brown, who has increased the tax burden on people in this country by an incredible amount (look it up if you are interested in figures, but take my word, indirect taxation is at an unprecedented level), is actually Scottish.  A country which has agitated for, and achieved, devolution, now has its own Parliament (which cost the British taxpayer millions – note that British.  Not Scottish), and now makes its own rules.  So Go Home, Gordon, and be a Member of Parliament there.  And I resent that he has made me feel somehow cheated.  There is a Scottish Parliament, a Welsh Parliament and an Irish Assembly, all of which are good and proper and right – but when I say I am English, where is my devolved government, I get lumped together with BNP thugs and racists generally.  See, now you have made me rant.

Who did you miss?
Angelo and Little David.  If there is a god and a heaven (that’s a big if but hey – stranger things have proven to be true) may we meet up again.

Who was the best new person you met?
CupCate.  She is so very – look, I cannot think of a single word to describe her, so six will have to do.  Brave, big-hearted, funny, slim (size 12 is NOT big), honest, and pretty to boot.

Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2006:
Be brave.  Try new things.  Get a radical hair cut or colour.  Wear scarlet.  Go to a political meeting and heckle, and see if they throw you out on prime time TV (way to go, Tony!).  Do.  Be.  Something.  Anything.  Oh.  And have FUN!

 

About bookmole
I am pro-choice. You make yours, I'll make mine, okay?

8 Responses to How Went Your 2006?

  1. RPM says:

    This was awesome.

  2. CupCate says:

    GO FUG YOURSELF!!! They're my favorite. Oh how I love the way they write…
    Thank you, so, so much. What you said about me, honesetly, is one of the best things anyone has ever said about me. You touch my heart, my dear, you do. It was so wonderful meeting you. You are fabulous. Honest. Raw. Real. And you drink JD on the rocks. HELLO!
    Thank you for all of your kind words, and the entertainment I get from your posts…
    I feel so lucky to have you in my 'hood, Ms.Bookmole, and, essentially, my life!
    xx
    xx

  3. Bookmole says:

    And you, my dear, are a treat to know. Must meet up again, sometime when the weather is more clement, and have a more relaxed meet than LoVox. Good though it was, it would be nice to talk to people without shouting!

  4. Miranda says:

    Thanks for the welcome… I am already enjoying it here. And if nothing else, it'll keep my writing skills a little more honed… and my humor at the forefront.

  5. Austin1234 says:

    Surviving, staying sane and keeping the family together is something indeed. Sounds like a great year!

  6. NYCinephile says:

    Are you familiar with 43 Things? Based on your answers to these questions, I think you'd be an interesting and valuable contributor. Contact me via Vox messaging or my gmail address if you'd like an invitation to join any of the Ts on my list.

  7. Bookmole says:

    I have enough to do with one blog, thanks – that, plus four kids, one demanding husband and a house take up the rest of my time! Thanks though. Maybe if things calm down here sometime (anytime please god) soon, I'll reconsider.

Leave a Reply

