Damn Him

Coming home from Kay’s when Maggie May starts to play.  My oh my, how that song takes me back!

I was 17.  And I was in love with Alan.  Can’t remember his surname now, but I can remember how the sun shone on his hair, long and blonde, thick and straight.  Better than mine.  Slender.  Worked in a factory and made me a ring.  From steel plate.

His mother wanted us to get married.  His father wanted him to get a better education, a better job, a better girlfriend.

Which he did,

 

About bookmole
I am pro-choice. You make yours, I'll make mine, okay?

3 Responses to Damn Him

  1. Bookmole says:

    Upside is – if I had married him, at 17, I would either be divorced by now, or married to a factory worker with, to be brutally honest, very little education. As someone who is now known for the amount of trivia I have remembered and can recall, I suspect it would have driven me mad.But he was gorgeous. Not as gorgeous as Mike the Body, but that's a post for another time!

  2. NYCinephile says:

    @Bookmole: I, too, have loved "Maggie May" all these years. It truly captures the urgency and angst of young love. How can Rod's homogenized renditions of the standards compare?

Leave a Reply

