QotD: What Was I Thinking?

Finish this sentence: “What in the world was I thinking when I…?”
Submitted by jammin15.

when I let myself be picked up by a Scientologist, who took me to the East Grinstead commune and tried to brainwash me?

I dunno, something along the lines of Well, it’s a bed for the night or It’ll all be alright tomorrow.  But it wasn’t.  Oh no, it was not OK in the morning.

Small huts, no privacy, Scientology in your ears day and night.  I had four photos of Sharon and Tracey in my handbag, that they stole from me and never returned.  I had some money – they took that too.  They tried to take my sanity – no way, out of there.  But that meant escaping.  Really – escaping.

I had to wait till everyone was asleep before I could get out of bed and creep to the door.  Open the door.  Wait, nervous.  Someone coughed, I nearly cried.  Up the paths, very spooky in the dark.  Through the trees and over the bloody fence, getting skinned knees and splinters.  Hitch a lift.  No bags, no clothes, no money.

But I did have my sanity and my life, and very glad I was to have those.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About bookmole
I am pro-choice. You make yours, I'll make mine, okay?

4 Responses to QotD: What Was I Thinking?

  1. Holy shit – seriously?

  2. Bookmole says:

    Yes. I was 19, had just given up my children for adoption, broke, depressed – I was hitching round the country and sleeping in cars, when this guy said "hey I got a safe place you can sleep tonite" and I believed him. Really, I am mostly thankful that, in all the hitching, getting drunk with strangers and doing really really stupid things, I survived.

  3. Wow – I'm glad you survived too.

  4. Wow, I'd been waiting for this story after you mentioned it in a previous post. That's wild. I'm glad you got out OK.

Leave a Reply

