Reasons for My Absence, Part 1

List of things I have not blogged about this year:

Going to see Faithless for the last time

Getting off the tube 10 miles from home in freezing cold weather by mistake and having to get a cab @ 50 fucking English pounds

Going to a whiskey festival in Brighton,

Uttering words Husband has never heard me say. I must stop drinking whiskey now, they all taste the same,

Seeing Dave Gorman at Hoxton Hall, and getting heckled – isn’t that what they call it when the comedian tells you she likes your shoes?

Meeting Dave Gorman at the signing of his book, Dave Gorman vs The Rest of The World,

Telling Dave Gorman off for calling me Madam (his reply – his mother bought him up well – made me feel crass)

Seeing Ray Davies’ performance at this year’s Meltdown festival, performing the whole of Village Green with a full Orchestra and a Choir was pretty fucking stunning. Then he rocked for another two hours – not back for a guy of coming up 70.

Swanage was a good weekend – walked to Old Harry Rocks, found a Beer Festival and searched Swanage for a decent whiskey then for glasses to drink from. Our B&B only provided one water glass, and shot glasses seem an endangered species in Dorset.

Having a good lunch in a vegan cocktail bar; again in Brighton.

Getting diagnosed with breast cancer.

It’s a fucking bugger, that last one.

Contained. Treatable. Cancer.

It has sort of taken over my life, so apologies for not being around.

About bookmole
I am pro-choice. You make yours, I'll make mine, okay?

8 Responses to Reasons for My Absence, Part 1

  1. Margy Rydzynski says:

    Understandable, given the circumstances. Stay strong!

  2. leendadll says:

    Jeebus. Glad your diagnosis is “contained. treatable.” About to go read the newer post while sending good jujus.

  3. lauowolf says:

    Gawd
    I missed this when you posted it.
    Ugh and ugh and ugh.
    At least it is good bad news, but perfectly bad enough anyway.

  4. crankypants says:

    Oh boy. Sending out major mojo for you to beat that bastard.
    and Yay for Ray!

    • bookmole says:

      Oh yeah – Ray was amazing, wonderful and I still would not kick him out of my bed. However, I don’t think there would be much hanky-panky going on (the port is still sore for one thing, and I have no libido at all right now, so that’s another). But still.

  5. Kzinti says:

    What! No whiskey? Blasphemy. I know I’m late to read this, but I hope you are staying strong through the other crap.

  6. MsRedPen says:

    Oh wow. I am sending all my best wishes your way. Be strong.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 44 other followers

